Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan

Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan is co-founder, shareholder and president of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform. Mrs. Schwan leads the area of ​​the Trialogs.

Gesine Schwan is a political scientist. She completed a study of Romance, History, Philosophy and Political Science in Berlin and Freiburg with study stays in Warsaw and Krakow.

Since 1972, she has been a member of the SPD, and since 2014 Gesine Schwan has been the chairman of the SPD’s foundation committee, and since December 2015 co-chair of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network, SDSN Germany.

From 1977-1999 she was a professor for political science and from 1992 to 1994 dean for the political science department at the Free University of Berlin. In 1999, she became President of the Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) and contributed decisively to its development.

From 2005-2009, Gesine Schwan was the coordinator of the federal government for border and civil society cooperation with Poland. In 2004, on the basis of a proposal by the SPD and Bündnis90 / Die Grünen, and on a proposal by the SPD, she ran for the office of the Federal President.

Together with other scientists, Gesine Schwan founded the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA School of Governance in March 2009 and was its president from June 2010-June 2014.

Gesine Schwan has received numerous awards, including the 2004 Marion Dönhoff Prize for International Understanding and Reconciliation, and 2006 the Honorary Doctorate of the European University of Florence. She is the bearer of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, of the Order “Bene merito” of the Republic of Poland and of the Honorary Legion of the Republic of France.

Telefon: +49 (30) 2007 6166
E-Mail: office.schwan@governance-platform.org

HVGP GesineSchwan Klein 275x410 - Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan

Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan

Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan ist Mitgründerin, Gesellschafterin und Präsidentin der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform. Frau Schwan leitet den Bereich der Trialoge.

Gesine Schwan ist Politikwissenschaftlerin. Sie absolvierte ein Studium der Romanistik, Geschichte, Philosophie und Politologie in Berlin und Freiburg mit Studienaufenthalten in Warschau und Krakau.

Seit 1972 ist sie Mitglied der SPD und seit 2014 ist Gesine Schwan Vorsitzende der Grundwertekommission der SPD und seit Dezember 2015 Co-Vorsitzende des Sustainable Development Solutions Network, SDSN Germany.

Von 1977 – 1999 war sie Professorin für Politikwissenschaft, sowie von 1992 – 1994 Dekanin für den Fachbereich Politikwissenschaft an der FU Berlin. 1999 wurde sie Präsidentin der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) und trug entscheidend zu deren Entwicklung bei.

Von 2005 -2009 war Gesine Schwan Koordinatorin der Bundesregierung für die grenznahe und zivilgesellschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Polen. Sie kandidierte 2004 auf Vorschlag von SPD und Bündnis90/Die Grünen und 2009 auf Vorschlag der SPD für das Amt des Bundespräsidenten

Gesine Schwan gründete gemeinsam mit anderen Wissenschaftlern im März 2009 die HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA School of Governance und war von Juni 2010 – Juni 2014 deren Präsidentin.

Gesine Schwan erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter 2004 den Marion Dönhoff Preis für internationale Verständigung und Versöhnung und 2006 die Ehrendoktorwürde des  Europäischen Hochschulinstituts Florenz. Sie ist Trägerin des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, des Ordens „Bene merito“ der Republik Polen und Großoffizier der Ehrenlegion der Republik Frankreich.

Telefon: +49 (30) 2007 6166
E-Mail: office.schwan@governance-platform.org

HVGP GesineSchwan Klein 275x410 - Prof. Dr. Gesine Schwan