Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul (until July 2020)

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul is co-founder and shareholder of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform.

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul is Vice-President of Friends of the Global Fund Europe, member of the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE) and serves on the Board of Directors of the International Partnership for Microbicides (IPM).

Ms. Wieczorek-Zeul was Germany’s Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development and Governor of the World Bank from 1998 to 2009. She was also a member of the national parliament, the German Bundestag, from 1987 until 2013. Ms. Wieczorek-Zeul has been a vocal HIV/AIDS and women’s health advocate throughout her career, using her government positions to advance key research and policy agendas.

Prior to her post as Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Ms. Wieczorek-Zeul was a member of the European Parliament from 1979 to 1987, where she was on the Committee on External Relations, focusing on foreign trade and European development policy. She was Vice-chair person of the Social Democratic Party of Germany (SPD) from 1993 until 2005.

Telefon: +49 (30) 2007 6166

HVGP HeidemarieWieczorekZeul 275x410 - Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul (until July 2020)

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul

Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul ist Mitgründerin und Gesellschafterin der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform.

Frau Wieczorek-Zeul ist Vizepräsidentin der Freunde des Globalen Fonds Europa, Mitglied des Rates für nachhaltige Entwicklung und Mitglied des Aufsichtsrates der International Partnership for Microbicides (IPM).

Frau Wieczorek-Zeul war Bundesministerin für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung und Gouverneurin der Weltbank von 1998 bis 2009. Sie gehörte außerdem als Abgeordnete von 1987 bis 2013 dem Deutschen Bundestag an. Während ihrer gesamten Karriere war sie eine Verfechterin für die Gesundheit von Frauen und Mädchen sowie für die Belange der Betroffenen von HIV/Aids und setzte sich auch im Rahmen ihrer Regierungsämter für diese Themen ein.

Vor ihrer Zeit als Ministerin war Frau Wieczorek-Zeul Abgeordnete des Europaparlaments (1979-1987), wo sie sich als Mitglied des Auswärtigen Ausschusses auf Fragen des Außenhandels und Europäischer Entwicklungspolitik konzentrierte. Sie war außerdem von 1993 bis 2015 stellvertretende Bundesvorsitzende ihrer Partei, der SPD.

Telefon: +49 (30) 2007 6166

HVGP HeidemarieWieczorekZeul Klein 275x410 - Heidemarie Wieczorek-Zeul