Peter Conze

Peter Conze is a co-founder and partner of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform, where he advises on extractive industries as well as other transparency initiatives. He is also a member of the advisory board of the Garment Industries Transparency Initiative.

Peter Conze worked for 35 years for the Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ, formerly GTZ). He started as an assistant to the board of directors and then was a government advisor to the Ministry of Finance. Subsequent positions include GIZ representative in Somalia and division chief for Southern Africa, and after the breakup of the Soviet Union he served as the first division chief of GIZ for Eastern Europe. After his time as project manager for the German government’s support program for the Expo 2000 in Hannover, he served as GIZ’s Africa director for seven years and then was director of the regional office in South Africa for five years.

For 20 years, Peter Conze was a member of the Supervisory Board of GIZ as an employee representative, including a term as deputy chair.

Peter Conze was a founder of the anti-corruption organization Transparency International (TI) in 1993. Since then he has served as one of the few individual members of this world-wide organization, advising the international secretariat of TI in its Africa activities. He is also a member of the board of directors of Transparency International – Germany. In addition, Peter is a regular speaker at conferences and universities on the prevention of corruption and topics related to African development.

Peter studied law and political science in Freiburg, Geneva and Munich. After finishing his legal education in Germany, he studied at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in Boston, graduating with an M.A. in international relations.

 

HVGP Peter Conze Klein 275x410 - Peter Conze

Peter Conze

Peter Conze ist Mitgründer und Gesellschafter der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform gGmbH. Im Rahmen der Organisation befasst er sich mit Rohstofffragen sowie mit verschiedenen Transparenz-Initiativen. Er ist Mitglied des Beirats der Garment Industries Transparency Initiative.

Peter Conze war 35 Jahre lang in der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit tätig. Für die Deutsche Gesellschaft für internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH war er unter anderem als Vorstandsassistent, Regierungsberater im Finanzministerium sowie Repräsentant der Organisation in Somalia, als Abteilungsleiter für das Südliche Afrika und nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion als erster Abteilungsleiter der GIZ für Osteuropa tätig. Nach einer Zeit als Programmleiter für den entwicklungspolitischen  Beitrag der Bundesregierung  zur Expo 2000 in Hannover folgten eine Zeit von 7 Jahren  als Bereichsleiter Afrika in der Zentrale und zuletzt fünf Jahre als Direktor des Regionalbüros der GIZ in Südafrika.

Peter Conze war 20 Jahre lang  als Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer bzw. der Leitenden Angestellten Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der GIZ, zeitweise als stellvertretender Vorsitzender.

Im Jahr 1993 war Peter Conze einer der Gründer der Antikorruptionsorganisation Transparency International. Er ist eins der zurzeit 28 persönlichen Mitgliedern der weltweiten Organisation, berät das Internationale Sekretariat der Organisation in Afrika-Fragen und ist Mitglied des Vorstands von Transparency International Deutschland. Peter Conze spricht regelmäßig auf Kongressen oder an deutschen Hochschulen zu Fragen der Korruptionsbekämpfung oder zur Entwicklungspolitik mit Afrika.

Peter Conze  hat in Freiburg, Genf und München Jura, Volkswirtschaft und Politik studiert. Er ist Volljurist und hat nach Beendigung der juristischen Ausbildung an der Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in Boston, USA ein Master Programm in International Relations absolviert.

HVGP Peter Conze Klein 275x410 - Peter Conze