Dr. Peter Heller

Dr. Peter W. Heller is a representative of the Canopus Foundation. The Canopus Foundation is co-founder and shareholder of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform.

Peter Heller studied economics and philosophy at the universities of St. Gallen, Lausanne and Freiburg im Breisgau (doctorate 1988). From 1990 to 1997 he worked as a mayor for environmental protection, energy and forestry in the city administration of Freiburg. From 1993 to 1997, he was Chairman of the ICLEI Executive Committee, Cities for Sustainability. He is the co-founder and founder of the Basel Agency for Sustainable Energy (BASE), the foundation board of the European Environment Foundation, Basel, and a member of several advisory councils. Heller is the founder, sole proprietor and CEO of forseo GmbH, an investment company for the early phase promotion of young companies in the field of renewable energies and energy efficiency. He is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Streb AG and Fahrenheit GmbH.


The Canopus Foundation is a non-profit private family foundation of German law, which has been active in developing and emerging countries for social enterprises and non-profit organizations since 1997. Canopus supports social enterprises with the aim of combating poverty in remote rural areas through access to environmentally friendly energy systems. In addition to financial assistance, entrepreneurial expertise is also offered.

Since 2014, the foundation has been setting up a second focus of its work “Education and Science for a Sustainable Economy”. The Canopus Foundation is a shareholder of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform and supports the establishment of the Cusanus College in Bernkastel-Kues. Both organizations contribute, inter alia, to the overcoming of the legitimation crisis of economics, and promote research and teaching for a sustainable economy and its mediation into society.

http://www.canopusfund.org

HVGP PeterHeller Klein 275x410 - Dr. Peter Heller

Dr. Peter Heller

Dr. Peter W. Heller ist Vertreter der Canopus Stiftung. Die Canopus Stiftung ist Mitgründerin und Gesellschafterin der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform.

Peter Heller studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Philosophie an den Universitäten St. Gallen, Lausanne und Freiburg im Breisgau (Promotion 1988). Von 1990 bis 1997 arbeitete er als Beigeordneter Bürgermeister für Umweltschutz, Energie- und Forstwirtschaft in der Stadtverwaltung von Freiburg. Von 1993 bis 1997 war er Chairman des Executive Committee der Organisation ICLEI, Cities for Sustainability. Er ist Mitgründer und Stiftungsrat der Basel Agency for Sustainable Energy (BASE), Stiftungsrat der European Environment Foundation, Basel, und Mitglied in mehreren Beiräten. Heller ist Gründer, alleiniger Gesellschafter und Geschäftsführer der forseo GmbH, einer Investmentgesellschaft für die Frühphasenförderung von jungen Unternehmen im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien und Energieeffizienz. Er ist Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der Streb AG und der SorTech AG.


Die Canopus Stiftung ist eine gemeinnützige private Familienstiftung deutschen Rechts, die sich seit 1997 in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern für Sozialunternehmen und gemeinnützige Organisationen engagiert. Canopus fördert Sozialunternehmen mit dem Ziel, über den Zugang zu umweltfreundlichen Energiesystemen die Armut in netzfernen ländlichen Gebieten zu bekämpfen. Neben finanzieller Hilfe wird auch unternehmerische Expertise angeboten.

Seit 2014 baut die Stiftung einen zweiten Arbeitsschwerpunkt „Bildung und Wissenschaft für eine nachhaltige Ökonomie“ auf. Die Canopus Stiftung ist Gesellschafterin der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform und unterstützt den Aufbau der Cusanus Hochschule in Bernkastel-Kues. Beide Organisationen leisten unter anderem einen Beitrag zur Überwindung der Legitimationskrise der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, und fördern die Forschung und Lehre für eine nachhaltige Ökonomie und deren Vermittlung in die Gesellschaft hinein.

http://www.canopusfund.org

HVGP PeterHeller Klein 275x410 - Dr. Peter Heller