Center on Governance through Human Rights

The Center on Governance through Human Rights of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform in Berlin provides advice on governance and human rights issues. Transitional justice in transformation societies, climate justice and cyber justice are the main areas in which the center has many years of expertise. The center follows a transdisciplinary and multi-actor approach, advises ministries and foundations, and organizes and moderates events between the economy, politics, science and civil society.

Combining human rights and governance. The Center’s unique value proposition is that the underlying principle for all its work – be it advisory, research or training – is the strong connection between human rights and governance. Through a unique combination of inter- and transdisciplinary policies, relevant research and capacity building, it differs clearly from existing Centers. The Center’s fellows will work on current political issues of governance and challenges to find solutions on how to govern in and through human rights in any specific area.

Worldwide, not regional. The operations of the Center are not limited to a regional level, but include worldwide action: wherever there is the need for better governance in and through human rights, the request will be answered through action. The scope of its action is not limited – it can be a multi-national company in Germany, an EU institution in Brussels, the UN Internet Governance Forum or a civil society organization in Bangladesh.

Human rights are increasingly making headlines. But their day-to-day implementation falls far behind the possibilities. Be it uncontrolled violence, abuse and trafficking of women, ethnic cleansing, cyber crime, climate change, exploitation of immigrants or the oppression of civil society – the wave of human rights violations have sparked a fresh debate on the issues of human rights and good governance. The aim of the Center therefore is to investigate how human rights can be applied and adhered to better and more effectively in the future in politics, economics, education or daily dealings with one another.

Better Governance in public and private institutions can only be achieved if good governance and human rights are anchored in the decision processes according to international human rights and are applied complementarily. However, in times of globalization, digitalization and transcending borders nation states can no longer be the sole guarantor of human rights. Businesses, civil society, international organization and transnational networks carry the same responsibility for the adherence to human rights and their advancement as national institutions do.

This development has led to the necessity of monitoring and analyzing the level of human rights and governance prevailing on the local, regional, national and global level. Only with this can the human rights standards and governance standards be made visible and the adherence to human rights be secured.  Around the world, several economic and political institutions and organizations as well as research centers dedicate themselves to measuring, monitoring and analyzing the quality of governance of actors and institutions. They monitor, measure and analyze both the quality of the governance of the respective actors and institutions, as well as the work of governments in the area of ​​governance.

 

COGTHR web logo transp 300x130 - Center on Governance through Human RightsDr. Anja Mihr
Lead: Dr. Anja Mihr

[+] Activities of the center

The Center offers training, training and practical support in the areas of governance and human rights. The center also includes an international research network that conducts reliable and application-oriented studies.

Studies and policy briefs. The studies and research focuses on the mutual relationship between governance and human rights. This brings together views from different disciplines such as social sciences, law, economics or philosophy as well as from the private, civic and public sector. By using this approach, the center’s studies always include transdisciplinary knowledge and draw on the experience of science and professionals.

Advisory function. The Center takes on an advisory function for national governments, organized civil society organizations as well as companies. The Center combines policy consultants, researchers and experts with years of experience in their respective fields, i.e. campaigning, advocacy, research in the field of governance and human rights.

Trainings. The trainings offered by the Center combine good governance and human rights principles to advance and strengthen sustainable decision and policy making processes in societies. These training and education offerings will focus on students, diplomats, NGOs, policy makers and business. The capacity building programs are based on best practice examples and are especially important in regions dealing with social transformation.

Governance and Human Right Lecture series. The Center invites guest speakers on a regular basis to elaborate on the inter-linkage between governance and human rights from their professional background experience. Speakers will come from companies, governments, NGOs or international organizations and private initiatives. Collaboration with other institutions, centers, universities or think tanks are anticipated.

Key areas of expertise of Center on Governance through Human Rights

Human Rights as dialogue

MRimDialog - Center on Governance through Human RightsEvents, videos and publication on current human rights topics

Learn more

Transitional Justice

shutterstock 137398187 klein 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human RightsLong-term transitional processes following changes in society policy

Learn more

Cyber Justice

shutterstock 322057550 klein2 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human RightsProtection and promotion of human rights on the Internet and in Cyberspace

Learn more

Climate Justice

shutterstock 424380922 klein 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human RightsConsideration of human rights standards in dealing with climate change

Learn more

Library Center on Governance through Human Rights

Events Center on Governance through Human Rights

Aktuell sind keine kommenden Termine hinterlegt.

Center on Governance through Human Rights

Das Center on Governance through Human Rights der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform in Berlin berät zu Governance und Menschenrechtsthemen. Transitional Justice (Übergangsjustiz) in Transformationsgesellschaften, Climate Justice (Klimagerechtigkeit) und Cyber Justice (Menschenrechte im Internet) sind Schwerpunktthemen, in denen das Center langjährige Expertise hat. Das Center folgt einem transdisziplinären und Multi-Akteurs-Ansatz, berät Ministerien und Stiftungen, und organisiert und moderiert Veranstaltungen die zwischen Wirtschaft, Politik, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft agieren.

Kombination von Menschenrechten und Governance. Das Center setzt in allen Bereichen seiner Arbeit auf eine starke Verbindung zwischen Menschenrechten und Governance. MaW besseres Regierung durch Menschenrechte nicht über Menschenrechte. Menschenrechte können in allen Arbeits- und Entscheidungsbereichen gemainstreamt werden, sei es im Rahmen von Meinungsfreiheit im Internet, Rechten von Minderheiten in der Übergangsjustiz, Versammlungsfreiheiten im Cyberraum, Frauenrechten bei der Klimagerechtigkeit. Diese Verbindung macht das Center einzigartig und die einmalige Kombination der transdisziplinären Politikinstrumente, der relevanten Forschung und dem Capacity Building hebt es von anderen Centern ab. Die Fellows des Centers arbeiten an tagesaktuellen politischen Themen der Governance arbeiten und beantworten Fragen, wie in und durch welche Menschenrechte in bestimmten Bereichen erfolgreich regiert werden kann.

Weltweit, nicht regional. Die Arbeit des Centers ist nicht regional begrenzt, sie geschieht weltweit. Das Center arbeite in mehreren Sprachen immer dort, wo die Notwendigkeit besteht in und durch Menschenrechte eine besser Governance herzustellen. Dabei beschränkt das Center seine Beratungsbereitschaft nicht auf einen Sektor – wir bearbeiten bspw. Anfragen von multinationalen Unternehmen, EU-Institutionen in Brüssel, von einem UN Internet Governance Forum oder einer zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisation in Bangladesch und Kolumbien.

Menschenrechte machen täglich Schlagzeilen. Aber ihre Einhaltung und Umsetzung stehen auf allen Ebenen noch immer vor großen Herausforderungen. Ob zügellose Gewalt, Missbrauch und Handel von Frauen, ethnische Säuberung, Cyberkriminalität, Klimawandel, Ausbeutung von Einwanderern oder die Unterdrückung der Zivilgesellschaft – die Welle an Menschenrechtsverletzungen hat zu einer neuen öffentlichen Debatte über Menschenrechte und ihrer Steuerbarkeit durch Good Governance geführt. Ziel des Centers ist es daher zu ergründen, wie Menschenrechte in Zukunft besser und effektiver in der Politik, Wirtschaft, Bildung oder im täglichen Umgang miteinander angewendet und eingehalten werden können.

Better Governance in öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen kann nur dann erreicht werden, wenn sowohl Good Governance als auch Menschenrechte in den Entscheidungsprozessen als Kriterien entsprechend des internationalem Völker- und Menschenrechts verankert sind und sich die beiden Prinzipien gegenseitig komplettieren. In Zeiten der Globalisierung, Digitalisierung und offenen Grenzen können Nationalstaaten nicht mehr als alleiniger Garant für Menschenrechte einstehen. Unternehmen, Zivilgesellschaft und international Organisationen und transnationale Netzwerke sind dabei ebenso in der Pflicht die Menschenrechte einzuhalten und zu fördern, wie staatliche Institutionen.

Die Arbeit von Netzwerken, Organisationen und Institutionen muss auf lokaler, nationaler, regionaler und globaler Ebene kontinuierlich überwacht, analysiert und unterstützt werden. Nur so kann das Niveau der Menschenrechte und der Governance sichtbar gemacht und die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte gesichert werden. Weltweit haben sich Institutionen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik dieser Aufgabe durch internationale Abkommen verpflichtet. Sie überwachen, messen und analysieren sowohl die Qualität der Governance der jeweiligen Akteure und Institutionen, als auch die Arbeit der Regierungen im Bereich der Governance.

COGTHR web logo transp 300x130 - Center on Governance through Human RightsDr. Anja Mihr
Leitung: Dr. Anja Mihr

[+] Aktivitäten des Centers

Das Center bietet Aus- und Weiterbildung, Trainings und praktischen Support im Bereich Governance und Menschenrechte an, wie etwa das Master Programm on Governance and Human Rights an der Leuphana Universität in Lüneburg. Das Center umfasst auch ein internationales Forschernetzwerk, das zuverlässige und anwendungsorientierte Studien durchführt.

Studien & Policy Briefs. Das Center konzentriert sich hier auf die wechselseitige Beziehung zwischen Governance und Menschenrechten. Perspektiven aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen, wie etwa aus den Sozial- und Rechtswissenschaften, Wirtschaft oder Philosophie, sowie dem privaten, zivilen und öffentlichen Sektor werden einbezogen. So umfassen die Studien des Centers immer transdisziplinäres Wissen und die Erfahrungen der Wissenschaft und der Praxis.

Beratung. Das Center ist weltweit für Regierungen, organisierte Zivilgesellschaft und Netzwerke und Unternehmen beratend tätig. Es bündelt dazu die Expertise von Politikberaterinnen- und -beratern, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und von weiteren Expertinnen und Experten, die ihre langjährige Erfahrung in ihrem jeweiligen Berufsfeld z.B. Campaigning, Advocacy, Forschung im Bereich Governance und Menschenrechte.

Trainings. Das Center bietet ein Master Program on Governance and Human Rights an, Menschenrechtsbildung und weitere Capacity-Building-Trainings, in denen es Fähigkeiten und Prinzipien von Governance und Menschenrechte verbindet, um nachhaltige Entscheidungen und politische Entscheidungsprozesse in der Gesellschaft zu stärken. Die angebotenen Trainings und Fortbildungsangebote richten sich in erster Linie an Studenten, Diplomaten, NGOs, Entscheidungsträger und Unternehmensvertreter. Sie basieren auf Best-Practice-Beispielen und sind insbesondere für Regionen, die sich in einer Phase der sozialen Transformation befinden, wichtig.

Ringvorlesungen und Roundtables. Die Ringvorlesungen finden in regelmäßigen Intervallen mit Partnerorganisationen (Stiftungen, NGOs, Universitäten, Wirtschaft) in Berlin und international statt. Die jeweiligen Sprecher beleuchten die Verbindung zwischen Governance und Menschenrechten aus ihren Berufsfeldern heraus. Die Rednerinnen und Redner werden vom Center eingeladen und kommen aus Unternehmen, Regierungen, NGOs und/oder internationalen Organisationen und privaten Initiativen vom Center.

Schwerpunktthemen des Center on Governance through Human Rights:

Transitional Justice

shutterstock 137398187 klein 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human Rights

Begleitung von langfristigen Übergangsprozessen nach gesellschaftspolitischen Umbrüchen

Erfahren Sie mehr

Cyber Justice

shutterstock 322057550 klein2 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human RightsSchutz und Förderung von Menschenrechten im Internet und Cyberraum

Erfahren Sie mehr

Climate Justice

shutterstock 424380922 klein 300x200 - Center on Governance through Human RightsBerücksichtigung von Menschenrechtsnormen im Umgang mit Klimawandel

Erfahren Sie mehr

Mediathek des Centers on Governance through Human Rights

Veranstaltungen des Center on Governance through Human Rights