The five European pairs of municipalities for the project “Energiewende PartnerStadt” are chosen!

We congratulate the five pairs of municipalities selected for the project “Energiewende PartnerStadt”. The project “Energiewende PartnerStadt” started in 2017 as a pilot project and supports planned or existing partner municipalities in the field of renewable energies. 

This year, the jury, consisting of the representatives of the Federal Foreign Office, the Renewable Energy Agency, the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform and the Association of Municipal Enterprises, selected the following city pairs: 

o Braunsbedra (ST) – Kozani (GR) 

o Marburg-Biedenkopf (HE) and Koscierczyna (PL) 

o Steinhagen (NRW) – Woerden (NL) 

o Pfaffenhofen (BY) – Galway (IRL) 

o Alheim (HE) – Dunleer (IRL) 

As a local implementer cities, municipalities and municipal utilities are pioneers of the energy transition and therefore important for achieving the climate goals in Europe. The project “Energiewende PartnerStadt” aims to support the role of municipalities across borders and promotes the exchange on energy transition topics from five European town partnerships. The project is jointly run by the Renewable Energy Agency and the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform and funded by the German Federal Foreign Office. 

On May 28th and 29th, representatives of the participating pairs of municipalities will come to Berlin for the kick-off event to get to know each other and to discuss projects and ideas. An excursion to a good practice example in Berlin should make the energy transition tangible on the ground. 

Europakarte EWPS 10 Kommunen Mar19 1 1024x968 - The five European pairs of municipalities for the project "Energiewende PartnerStadt" are chosen!
The Energiewende Twinning Towns 2019

All information about the project can be found here.