Dr. Niklas Im Winkel

Since June 2018, Niklas Im Winkel is coordinator of the Trialog series “Who bears responsibility for the future of democracy?”, a joint project of the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform and the Foundation “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future”.

Niklas studied economics and social psychology in Bochum. After his diploma he worked as assistant researcher at the chair of competition policy and media economics at the Helmut-Schmidt-University in Hamburg. He focused on political economics and took his doctoral degree for experimental research on new political voting systems.

Between 2015 and 2018 he worked as project manager at Bertelsmann Foundation in the department “Future of Democracy”. He analyzed the effects of increasing social inequality on democracy – especially on social division of electoral turnout and (right wing) populism. As a conceptual consultant and science adviser he gave support to projects for political participation and education. In addition to that he took part in a joint project with WZB to develop new instruments for operationalizing quality of democracy.

Telefon: +49 30 206 20130
E-Mail: nimwinkel@governance-platform.org

NiklasImWinkel web 275x410 - Dr. Niklas Im Winkel

Dr. Niklas Im Winkel

Niklas Im Winkel ist seit Juni 2018 Leiter der Trialog-Reihe „Wer trägt Verantwortung für die Demokratie”, welche die HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform und die Stiftung „Erinnerung, Vergangenheit, Zukunft” gemeinsam durchführen.

Niklas studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaft und Sozialpsychologie an der Ruhr-Universität in Bochum. Nach seinem Abschluss wechselte er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an die Professur für Wettbewerbs- und Medienökonomik an der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität in Hamburg. Dort promovierte er im Bereich Politische Ökonomik und forschte experimentell zu neuen politischen Wahlsystemen.

Von 2015 bis 2018 war Niklas als Project Manager bei der Bertelsmann-Stiftung tätig. Im Programm „Zukunft der Demokratie” untersuchte er die Folgen der wachsenden sozialen Ungleichheit auf die Demokratie, insbesondere auf die soziale Spaltung der Wahlbeteiligung und den (Rechts-)Populismus. Als konzeptioneller und wissenschaftlicher Berater unterstützte er Projekte im Bereich politischer Partizipation und Bildung. Zudem arbeitete er in einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt mit dem WZB an der Entwicklung neuer Instrumente zur Messung von Demokratiequalität.

Telefon: +49 30 206 20130
E-Mail: nimwinkel@governance-platform.org

NiklasImWinkel web 275x410 - Dr. Niklas Im Winkel