Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen

Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen is co-founder and shareholder of HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform gGmbH.

Eigen has worked in economic development and governance for several decades and has led initiatives for better global governance and the fight against corruption.

A lawyer by training, Eigen has worked as a World Bank manager of programs in Africa and Latin America; from 1983 to 1988 he was Programs Division Chief for Argentina, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Paraguay and Uruguay. At that time Latin America suffered its greatest debt crisis and the responsibility of Eigen and his team included appropriate policy advice, project and structural adjustment financing — in particular in Argentina, Chile and Peru. Thereafter, he was the Director of the Regional Mission for Eastern Africa of the World Bank. Under Ford Foundation sponsorship, he provided legal and technical assistance to the governments of Botswana and Namibia to strengthen the legal framework for mining investments.

In 1993 Eigen founded Transparency International (TI), a non-governmental organization promoting transparency and accountability in international development. From 1993 to 2005 he was Chair of TI and is now Chair of its Advisory Council. During this period he founded the Partnership for Transparency Fund and is still on its board. From 2005–11, Eigen was the founding chairman of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI). In August 2014 he co-founded the “HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform” in Berlin and he is the Chair of its Governance Projects.

Eigen has taught law and political science at the universities of Frankfurt/M, Harvard, SAIS/ Johns Hopkins, University of Washington and Bruges College of Europe. From 2002 – 2014 he was teaching Political Science at the Freie Universität, Berlin. In 2000, he was awarded the ‘Honorary Doctor’ degree at the Open University, UK, in 2004, the Readers Digest Award “European of the Year 2004” and in 2007 the Gustav Heinemann Award. Germany awarded Peter Eigen its Grand Cross of Merit in recognition of his efforts to combat corruption at the global level in January 2013.

Since 2007 Eigen is a member of Kofi Annan’s Africa Progress Panel (APP). 2009–2012 he was the vice-chairman of the Management Board of the African Legal Support Facility, African Development Bank. From 2007–2012 he served on the Board of the Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL) in Washington.

Until 2012 Eigen was the founding chairman of the International Civil Society Center, Berlin. Since 2008 he is a member of the boards of the NGOs Kabissa and of the German Doctors e.V. He serves on Advisory Boards: since 2010 of the Columbia Center for Sustainable Investment (New York), and since 2013 of the Natural Resources Institute (formerly Natural Resources Charter, Oxford).

E-Mail: office.eigen@governance-platform.org

HVGP PeterEigen Klein 275x410 - Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen

Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen

Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen ist Mitgründer und Gesellschafter der HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform gGmbH. Prof. Eigen leitet die Governance-Projekte der Governance Platform.

Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen arbeitet seit Jahrzehnten in den Bereichen wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und Governance und leitet mehrere Initiativen, die für eine bessere globale Governance und zur Bekämpfung der Korruption einsetzen.

Als Jurist und Programm-Verantwortlicher war Peter Eigen für die Weltbank in Afrika und Lateinamerika.Von 1983 bis 1988 war er Programmdirektor für Argentinien, Chile, Peru, Ecuador, Paraguay und Uruguay. Zu dieser Zeit erlitt Lateinamerika die größte Schuldenkrise und die Arbeit von Peter Eigen und seinem Team beinhaltete eine entsprechende Politikberatung, Projekt- und Strukturanpassungsfinanzierung – insbesondere in Argentinien, Chile und Peru. Nach 1988 war er Direktor der Regionalen Mission für Ostafrika der Weltbank. Für die Ford Foundation gab Dr. Eigen den Regierungen von Botsuana und Namibia rechtliche und technische Unterstützung, zur Stärkung des rechtlichen Rahmens für Investitionen im Bergbau.

1993 gründete Peter Eigen Transparency International (TI), eine nichtstaatliche Organisation, die Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht in der internationalen Entwicklung fördert. Von 1993 bis 2005 war Dr. Eigen Vorsitzender von TI und ist heute Vorsitzender des TI-Beirats. Während dieser Zeit gründete er die Partnerschaft für Transparenzfonds und ist heute noch in deren Vorstand. 2005 war Eigen Vorsitzender des Gründungskomitees der Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) und von 2006-2011 Chairman des internationalen Board der EITI.

Prof. Eigen lehrte Rechtswissenschaften und Politik an den Universitäten Frankfurt / M, Harvard, SAIS / Johns Hopkins, University of Washington und dem Brügger College of Europe Rechts- und Staatswissenschaften.Von 2002 bis 2014 lehrte er Politikwissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin. Im Jahr 2000 erhielt er die Ehrendoktorwürde der Open University, Großbritannien. 2004 wurde ihm der Readers Digest Award „European of the Year 2004“ und 2007 der Gustav Heinemann-Bürgerpreis verliehen. Deutschland hat Peter Eigen sein Großes Verdienstkreuz verliehen, Um seine Bemühungen zur Bekämpfung der Korruption auf globaler Ebene zu würdigen wurde Dr. Eigen im Januar 2013 das Große Verdienstkreuz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland verliehen.

Seit 2007 ist Eigen Mitglied des Afrika Progress Panel (APP) von Kofi Annan. 2009–2012 war er im Management-Board der African Legal Support Facility bei der Afrikanischen Entwicklungsbank. Von 2007 bis 2012 war er im Vorstand des Zentrums für Internationales Umweltrecht (CIEL) in Washington tätig.

Bis 2012 war Eigen Gründungsvorsitzender des International Civil Society Centers. Seit 2008 ist er im Vorstand der NGOs Kabissa und der German Doctors. Er ist seit 2010 im Beirat des Columbia Centre for Sustainable Investment (New York) und seit 2013 im Beirat des Natural Resources Institute (ehemals Natural Resources Charter, Oxford).

E-Mail: office.eigen@governance-platform.org

HVGP PeterEigen Klein 275x410 - Prof. Dr. Peter Eigen