Municipal Development Councils - four new municipalities chosen!

28 June 2023

On 6 June 2023, our expert jury, consisting of Dr Stefan Muschick (Managing Director of the E.ON Foundation), Prof. Dr Gesine Schwan (President of the Berlin Governance Platform), Laura Staudacher (Netzwerk Junge Lausitz), Dr Franziska Stelzer (Wuppertal Institute) and Kathrin Uhlemann (Mayor of Niesky), selected four municipalities for the new 2023 - 2025 project cycle. Until April 2025, the Berlin Governance Platform will support the cities of Cottbus, Duisburg, Frankfurt (Oder) and the joint municipality of Meinersen in establishing the new participatory approach "Municipal Development Advisory Council" on site.

In the advisory board, 30-35 representatives from politics, administration, civil society and business jointly develop recommendations for action for the elected council on future issues of the municipality in the area of socio-ecological transformation over the course of a year. The process is accompanied and moderated in close cooperation between a local coordination and moderation team and external process support from the Berlin Governance Platform.

You can find more information about the project here.

Contact: Laura Gerards Iglesias 

Phone: 01759944158