Options for action to strengthen municipalities in accepting refugees and in immigration policy

Screenshot 2021 09 22 at 17 07 23 Kommunale Aufnahme Handlungsoptionen 25 05 2020 docx pdf - Options for action to strengthen municipalities in accepting refugees and in immigration policy
All over Europe, municipalities and cities are networking in order to work together to develop new solutions for national and global tasks. It is remarkable how the municipalities go beyond the actual tasks of local politics in their demands and want to take on responsibility where they no longer expect the EU and national states to take timely and effective steps in the face of current challenges.
Many new city networks and municipal alliances have emerged in immigration policy in recent years: the international Mayors Forum, which has become an integral part of the Global Forum for Migration and Development (GFMD), and the Marrakech Declaration in December 2018 has published; the Eurocities network with its Solidarity Cities and Integration Cities, the International Cities of Refuge network and many more.
European cities and municipalities show with their willingness to accept again and again that the commitment to human rights is a cross-cutting task at all political levels and therefore also part of local politics. The willingness of municipalities to accept is not intended to question the individual right to a fair and thorough state asylum procedure, but rather to provide a solution to the central conflict over the European distribution of asylum seekers.

Download (Dateigröße: 0.32 MB)
Datum: 25.05.2020
Autor: Ansgar Gilster, Dr. Malisa Zobel, Felix Burgsmüller, Katharina Stamm, Liza Pflaum, Sascha Schießl
Sprache: Deutsch

Handlungsoptionen zur Stärkung der Kommunen in der Aufnahme von Geflüchteten und der Einwanderungspolitik

Screenshot 2021 09 22 at 17 07 23 Kommunale Aufnahme Handlungsoptionen 25 05 2020 docx pdf - Handlungsoptionen zur Stärkung der Kommunen in der Aufnahme von Geflüchteten und der Einwanderungspolitik

Überall in Europa vernetzen sich Gemeinden und Städte, um zusammen neue Lösungsansätze für nationale und globale Aufgaben zu erarbeiten. Bemerkenswert ist dabei, wie die Kommunen in ihren Forderungen über die eigentlichen Aufgaben von Lokalpolitik hinausgehen und dort Verantwortung übernehmen wollen, wo sie von der EU und Nationalstaaten keine zeitnahen und effektiven Schritte bei aktuellen Herausforderungen mehr erwarten.

In der Einwanderungspolitik sind in den letzten Jahren viele neue StädteNetzwerke und kommunale Bündnisse entstanden: Das internationale Mayors Forum”, das zu einem festen Bestandteil des Globalen Forums für Migration und Entwicklung (GFMD) geworden ist und im Dezember 2018 die MarrakeschErklärung veröffentlicht hat; das EurocitiesNetzwerk mit seinen Solidarity Cities und den Integration Cities, das International Cities of RefugeNetzwerk und viele mehr.

Europäische Städte und Kommunen zeigen mit ihrer wieder und wieder erklärten Aufnahmebereitschaft, dass der Einsatz für Menschenrechte eine Querschnittsaufgabe aller politischer Ebenen ist und somit auch Teil von Kommunalpolitik. Die Aufnahmebereitschaft von Kommunen soll dabei nicht das individuelle Recht auf ein faires und sorgfältiges staatliches Asylverfahren in Frage stellen, sondern ein Lösungsangebot im zentralen Konflikt um die europäische Verteilung von Schutzsuchenden darstellen.

Wir schlagen nachfolgend in drei zentralen kommunalen Handlungsfeldern jeweils zwei
umsetzbare Handlungsoptionen vor.

Download (Dateigröße: 0.32 MB)
Datum: 25.05.2020
Autor: Ansgar Gilster, Dr. Malisa Zobel, Felix Burgsmüller, Katharina Stamm, Liza Pflaum, Sascha Schießl
Sprache: Deutsch